LA REGIONAL POLICY COMMITTEE UPDATE

September 2019

JOIN THE COMMITTEE

For more information on local, state and federal policy issues, we invite you to participate in our monthly committee meetings (3rd Thursday of each month).

Next meeting:

September 19, 2019 10:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. Legal Aid Foundation of LA 1550 W. 8th Street, 3rd Floor Los Angeles, CA 90017



STATE LEGISLATIVE UPDATES

The California Legislature is wrapping up this year's legislative session. Bills had to be passed out of the legislature by September 13th and the Governor has until October 13th to sign or veto these bills.

Bills Heading to the Governor

AB 171 (Gonzalez): Creates a rebuttable presumption of unlawful retaliation when a negative employment action occurs within 90 days of an employer being notified that an employee is a victim of DV, SA or stalking.

AB 415 (Maienschein): Authorizes victim compensation benefits to reimburse survivors for the cost of having to relocate or temporarily house a pet (including security and pet deposits) as a result of a crime.

AB 668 (Gonzalez): Protects immigrant survivors from civil arrest at a state or local courthouse.

AB 917 (Reyes): Reduces the timeline for certifying agencies to process victim cooperation certification requests for U Visas and T Visas.

For more information on the state legislation listed here, visit leginfo.legislature.ca.gov

AB 1482 (Chiu): Prevents landlords from engaging in rent-gouging by limiting annual rent increases to 5% plus inflation (subject to exemptions).

SB 329 (Mitchell): Prohibits landlords from discriminating against tenants who rely on housing assistance paid directly to landlords, including Section 8 vouchers.

SB 375 (**Durazo**): Extends the deadline for victims of crime to apply for victim compensation benefits from 3 years to 10 years.

Bills Signed into Law

AB 381 (Reyes): Requires outreach programming during college orientations to include information about intimate partner violence and dating violence.

AB 806 (Bloom): Extends higher education priority enrollment for current and former homeless youth, including youth who resides/resided in a DV shelter.



Contact Us

LA Regional Policy Committee Co-Chairs

Nancy Volpert

Email: nvolpert@jfsla.org

Minty Siu-Kootnikoff

Email: msiu-

kootnikoff@thepeopleconcern.org

STATE FUNDING UPDATE

The California State Budget for 2019-2020 includes \$5 million for Domestic and Sexual Violence Prevention. The State is still working on the details of how this funding will be administered. We will keep you posted as we learn more about eligibility requirements and how to apply.

The California Partnership to End Domestic Violence is developing strategies to expand state funding for domestic violence services. As part of this process, the Partnership is revisiting standards for Domestic Violence Assistance Program (DVAP) funding, including the 14 core services that funded agencies are required to provide. The Partnership plans to have a funding plan by December 2020.

The Partnership held a series of listening sessions and surveys in August 2019 to gather input from the field on whether changes need to be made to the DVAP funding structure and eligibility requirements. In addition, Cal OES's Domestic Violence Advisory Committee (DVAC) will be discussing the 14 core services this Fall. If you have not had a chance to express your thoughts about DVAP and state domestic violence funding, we encourage you to contact the Partnership directly at policy@cpedv.org.

UPDATES ON PAST LEGISLATION & POLICY ISSUES

Senate Bill 144 (Mitchell/Hertzberg): Potential Elimination of Funding for Local DV and BIP Programs

SB 144 eliminates various criminal fees, including mandatory fees imposed on individuals convicted of, and placed on probation for, a domestic violence offense. A portion of these criminal DV fees are used to fund local domestic violence programs. Although an exception was made for optional court-ordered fees payable to a domestic violence shelter, the mandatory \$500 fee is still included in the bill and is the primary DV fee that goes towards funding local programs. In addition, the bill makes it easier to waive fees that compensate local programs for providing court-ordered batterer intervention education to offenders. The bill is now a two-year bill and will be taken up again in next year's legislative session. The California Partnership to End Domestic Violence's Statewide Policy Council is developing recommendations for amendments to the bill next year. Please share your thoughts about the bill with the Co-Chairs of the LA Regional Policy Committee and your local Statewide Policy Council representatives (Kendall Evans, Terra Slavin, Diane Trunk and Marci Fukuroda).

Federal Public Charge Rule

In August 2019, the Trump Administration announced a U.S. Department of Homeland Security final rule that changes "public charge" policies that govern how the use of public benefits may affect individuals' ability to enter the U.S. or adjust to lawful permanent resident status. The rule broadens the types of programs that the government will consider in public charge determinations to include previously excluded health, nutrition and housing programs, and outlines factors the government will consider in making a public charge determination. Under the new rule, instead of assessing whether someone is likely to become primarily dependent on the government for their income, a person may be determined a "public charge" even if they participate in government programs to support their work income.

The final rule will go into effect on October 15, 2019. Several states, including California, have lawsuits to bock the policy. For continued updates about the public charge rule, email the California Partnership to End Domestic Violence's policy team at policy@cpedv.org to receive email policy alerts and information about the Partnership's monthly policy calls.